About Us | Tree Lafayette

About Tree Lafayette


The Lafayette Tree Fund, Inc., doing business as Tree Lafayette, is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization which plants and maintains trees primarily on public property or rights-of-way (mainly along streets) in Lafayette, Indiana and educates about and promotes trees. Since our beginning in 1993, Tree Lafayette has planted more than 3,800 trees in the Greater Lafayette, Indiana community.

We are always in need of volunteers, not only to plant trees but also to maintain them once they are in the ground. We also need volunteers to serve on our committees and Board.

Mission Statement

Tree Lafayette promotes a healthy community by providing education, leadership, and inspiration in planting and caring for trees.

Board Members

Photo of Barry Bruce

Barry Bruce

Photo of Shirley Sterling

Shirley Sterling
Vice President

Photo of Bill Arthur

Bill Arthur

Photo of Pat Rosebrock

Pat Rosebrock

Photo of Gene Kroeschen

Gene Kroeschen
Executive Director

Photo of Doug Poad

Doug Poad

Photo of Corrina Miller

Corrina Miller

Placeholder photo for


Committee Chairs

Photo of Larry Rose

Larry Rose
Tree Committee Chair

Photo of Rachele Raines

Rachele Raines
Marketing Committee Chair

Photo of Dale Krynak

Dale Krynak
Development Committee Chair

Photo of Pat Rosebrock

Pat Rosebrock
Education Committee Chair

Photo of Barry Bruce

Barry Bruce
Governance Committee Chair

Our Advisors

Photo of Gene Kroeschen

Gene Kroeschen
Executive Director

Placeholder photo for Tim Detzner

Tim Detzner
Lafayette City Forester & Sustainability Coordinator

Photo of Mickey Penrod

Mickey Penrod

Photo of Lindsey Purcell

Lindsey Purcell

Photo of Bill Skrobutt

Bill Skrobutt

Placeholder photo for Orvin Lindell

Orvin Lindell

Vision Statement

Tree Lafayette’s vision is a sustainable urban forest providing the benefits needed by our community.

Our History

The Lafayette Tree Fund, Inc. was established in 1993 by charter members Arlan Stavnheim, Rob Galbraith, Orvin Lindell, David Lahr, William H. Baugh; Johanna Downie, and Rosie Lerner. Joni Heide, city forester, was the advisor.

Arlan Stavnheim served as president from 1993 until 2006. In 1999 Belinda Kiger became the new city forester and advisor. Larry Rose served as president from 2006 until 2012. During that era, the name of the organization was changed to Tree Lafayette and a new logo was adopted. On May 9, 2009, we planted the 1,000th tree since we began. In 2013 Gail Brock was elected president and served until July 2014. Jonathan Fisher was elected to serve as president until the end of the year. In 2015 Denise Coogan was elected president. On March 30th of 2015, Belinda Kiger retired. Arbor Day 2015 was held at Jefferson High School and we planted our 2,000th tree. The new city forester Leanne Wells was hired by the city in June 2015 and became an advisor to the board. Matt Green was elected as president in 2016. Leanne Wells left Lafayette in autumn of 2016. On January 1, 2017, Tim Detzner became the new city forester and advisor to the board. Larry Rose stepped down as Executive Director in 2017 and Bill Arthur was appointed to the position of Executive Director. In October 2022, the 4,000th tree will be planted. Gene Kroeschen was elected as President of the Board in January 2019.  Bill Arthur stepped down as Executive Director in December 2020.  Arbor Day 2021 was held on North 15th Street and we planted our 3,500th tree.  Barry Bruce was elected as President of the Board in January 2022 and Gene Kroeschen was appointed as Executive Director.



For more information about Tree Lafayette – Click Here