About Us

The Lafayette Tree Fund, Inc., doing business as Tree Lafayette, is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization which plants and maintains trees primarily on public property or right-of-ways (mainly along streets) in Lafayette, Indiana and educates about and promotes trees.  Since our beginning in 1993, Tree Lafayette has planted more than 3,400 trees in the Greater Lafayette, Indiana community.

We are always in need of volunteers, not only to plant trees but also to maintain them once they are in the ground.  We also need volunteers to serve on our committees.  Be sure to check us out on Facebook (@TreeLafayetteIndiana), Twitter (@TreeLafayette), and Instagram (@TreeLafayette).

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

See Tree Lafayette videos on Tree Lafayette.TV on YouTube.

Mission Statement 
Tree Lafayette promotes a healthy community by providing education, leadership, and inspiration in planting and caring for trees. 

Vision Statement 
Tree Lafayette’s vision is a green and beautiful urban landscape in our community.

Our History

The Lafayette Tree Fund, Inc. was established in 1993 by charter members Arlan Stavnheim, Rob Galbraith, Orvin Lindell, David Lahr, William H. Baugh; Johanna Downie, and Rosie Lerner.  Joni Heide, city forester, was the advisor.


Arlan Stavnheim served as president from 1993 until 2006.  In 1999 Belinda Kiger became the new city forester and advisor. Larry Rose served as president from 2006 until 2012.  During that era, the name of the organization was changed to Tree Lafayette and a new logo was adopted. On May 9, 2009, we planted the 1,000th tree since we began.  In 2013 Gail Brock was elected president and served until July 2014.  Jonathan Fisher was elected to serve as president until the end of the year. In 2015 Denise Coogan was elected president. On March 30th of 2015,  Belinda Kiger retired. Arbor Day 2015 was held at Jefferson High School and we planted our 2,000th tree. The new city forester Leanne Wells was hired by the city in June 2015 and became an advisor to the board.  Matt Green was elected as president in 2016. Leanne Wells left Lafayette in autumn of 2016.  On January 1, 2017, Tim Detzner became the new city forester and advisor to the board.  Larry Rose stepped down as Executive Director in 2017 and Bill Arthur was appointed to the position of Executive Director.  In December 2018, the 3,000th tree was planted.  Gene Kroeschen was elected as President of the Board in January 2019.  Bill Arthur stepped down as Executive Director at the end of 2020.


© 2018 by Lafayette Tree Fund, Inc. dba Tree Lafayette.